Virtual Test Prep Tutoring: Middle School

Public School

Students looking to apply to NYC specialized middle schools, such as NEST+m, Salk School of Science, Lab and Anderson, will have to take an admissions exam. Some schools use the OLSAT Level E as part of the admissions process, while others use their own exams. In addition, many times students must meet certain requirements to qualify for the exam such as scoring a 3 or 4 Level Proficiency on the NYS ELA/Math exams, having good attendance in lower school and/or maintaining a certain overall average.

The ELA/Math exam is an annual assessment of language arts and mathematics abilities of NY State public school students in grades three through eight.

Chicago Public Schools administers the Selective Enrollment High School test to students looking to enter Selective Enrollment High Schools in 9th grade. In order to sit for the exam in 8th grade, a student must have scored at or above the 70th percentile in both the reading and math sections of their 7th grade MAP exam.

Private School

The ERB Center Administers numerous tests for private school admissions including the CTP-4, and ISEE.

Current 8th and 9th grade students seeking admission into one of New York City’s Specialized High Schools, must take the Specialized High School Admissions Test (SHSAT). There are 9 Specialized High Schools in NYC: Bronx High School of Science, Brooklyn Latin School, Brooklyn Technical High School, Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts*, High School for Math, Science and Engineering at City College, High School of American Studies at Lehman College, Queens High School for the Sciences at York College, Staten Island Technical High School, and Stuyvesant High School.


*LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts does not use the SHSAT in their admissions process. Instead they require an audition and review of student records.


The Iowa Assessments (formerly the ITBS) is given in both public and private schools throughout the country.

The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is designed to evaluate the level and pattern of cognitive development of students in grades K through 12.

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus

Quick Links


    • LinkedIn Social Icon
    • Instagram Social Icon
    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon
    For Press Inquiries, please contact

    Corporate Headquarters  © Bright Kids, Inc. All rights reserved.